Judicial Profiles:


The California Supreme Court

The California Supreme Court is the highest court in California. It hears appeals from the Courts of Appeal, and in a few instances (like death penalty appeals) hear appeals directly from the trial courts.

The California Courts of Appeal

The California Courts of Appeal are divided into six appellate districts, and several of these districts are further divided into divisions. (Click on the district number for additional information on the court and the justices.)

District Division Counties
District 1 1 (Bay Area)

San Francisco, Marin, Sonoma, Napa, Solano, Lake, Mendocino, Humboldt, Del Norte, Contra Costa, Alameda, San Mateo

District 1 2
District 1 3
District 1 4
District 1 5
District 1 6
District 2 1 Los Angeles
District 2 2 Los Angeles
District 2 3 Los Angeles
District 2 4 Los Angeles
District 2 5 Los Angeles
District 2 6 Ventura, Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo
District 2 7 Los Angeles
District 3 - (Central and Northern California)

Siskiyou, Modoc, Trinity, Shasta, Lassen, Tehama, Plumas, Colusa, Glenn, Butte, Sierra, Sutter, Yuba, Nevada, Yolo, Placer, Sacramento, El Dorado, San Joaquin, Amador, Calaveras, Alpine, and Mono

District 4 1 San Diego, Imperial
District 4 2 Orange
District 4 3 San Bernardino, Riverside, Inyo
District 5 - (Central Califonria)

Stanislaus, Tuolumne, Merced, Mariposa, Madera, Fresno, Kings, Tulare, Kern

District 6 - Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey, and San Benito

The information on these webpages is not intended to serve as legal advice or as a guarantee, warranty, or prediction regarding the outcome of any particular legal matter. You should not rely on any information contained on these webpages without first consulting a qualified attorney.

This webpage is written and maintained by
Law Office of Bruce Adelstein

This webpage is hosted by Counselweb, Inc.,